Reducing weight remains top priority for automakers
September 23, 2016
Tying the future of telematics to sustainability
September 27, 2016

COTY finalists announced

This post has already been read 518 times!

The South African Guild of Motoring Journalists (SAGMJ) recently announced 10 finalists which will compete for top honours in the 2017 WesBank South African Car of the Year (COTY) competition.

The vehicles – which represent the ranges to which they belong – were unveiled at a function at the Johannesburg Country Club, Woodmead. They are:

  • Audi’s A4 sedan;
  • Honda’s Civic;
  • Hyundai’s Tucson;
  • Jaguar’s F-Pace;
  • Mazda’s CX-3;
  • Opel’s Astra;
  • Renault’s Kadjar;
  • Toyota’s Fortuner;
  • Volkswagen’s Passat;
  • Volkswagen’s Tiguan.

The vehicles were chosen following a vote among members of the SAGMJ and will be assessed in February next year by a COTY jury in two days of evaluation to be held at the newly revamped Kyalami Grand Prix Circuit.

Apart from dynamic and performance testing, the assessment includes routes and modules designed to put the vehicles through their paces in ways which are similar to those encountered by consumers in everyday motoring.

Additionally, the evaluation takes into account aesthetics, build quality, ergonomics, fuel consumption, environmental friendliness, safety features and value for money.

In making their assessments, members of the jury will have access to comparative pricing and specification data, as well as comparative parts pricing data, compiled by the SAGMJ’s digital partner, MAPO.

While all of the participating vehicles are deemed to represent examples of outstanding automotive engineering, an SAGMJ spokesman says it will be the jury’s job to find a winner – the vehicle range that best represents automotive excellence when compared to its segment peers.

The victor will be revealed at a gala banquet to be held in March next year, where it will be crowned South Africa’s 2017 WesBank Car of the Year.

The SAGMJ has run the SA Car of the Year competition since 1986, with WesBank – one of South Africa’s largest vehicle finance institutions – as its headline sponsor since inception. AutoTrader, Hollard Insurance and MAPO supply support sponsorship.

Leave a Reply